Synchonicity talking

Posted on October 10, 2011

2


Yesterday I happily wrote my blog about London – about the morphology of London.  I talked about two Londons – one based around the ancient routes between London’s villages, and the other based on newer ways to traverse London. I talked about how these two cultures, geographies and experiences could be two different worlds. Next to me on the sofa was the unopened Sunday Observer.  It had arrived late with the delivery of weekly shopping.

This morning as I was munching on my toast I pulled out the New Review section, scanning the pages for stories.  To my huge surprise, there was a double page spread on London entitled North of the River, South of the River, They’re Worlds Apart. The article talks about London’s geographies from the perspective of two residents, one to the north and the other to the south.  I was feeling quite spooked by this having only written about London as this article lay unopened within my reach but a complete secret.  Then, I turned on the computer and checked the headlines on the BBC News website.  Lo and behold, there was an article about how minds are now controlling artificial limbs and even bodies.  Now I was feeling fully freaked – hadn’t I just written a blog in which cyber-robotics featured only two days earlier?

I love these experiences of synchronicity!  They don’t often happen quite so cleanly or as clearly but I have come to recognise that there is much that has a synchronous element to life and work.  I have given up worrying as if in some paranoid fantasy that someone is out to steal my work – a particular feature of working in a highly competitive consultant environment – and now I think I accept the fact that good ideas, are often made better through a process of co-creation.  Whether this is conscious or unconscious, this process of having the same or similar ideas and recognising that working together can bring rich and fruitful results is unbelievably rewarding.

What would happen if we actively encouraged co-creation instead of privileging the creations of individuals over those which are unattributed or which belong to a group or many groups all at once?  Would we see a rush of ideas bursting forth in an Intellectual Property-free zone where the real power was not in ‘owning’ the idea, but in taking it beyond its brain-castle and into the world where it could be loved, hated, enjoyed or discarded by everyone and anyone?

Perhaps the speed of synchronous thought and creation means that this question is now redundant as it is happening whether we like it or not.  Professional services firms are beginning to give up on the whole notion of licensing IP and are instead embracing the old adage ‘it’s not what you’ve got, it’s what you do with it’.

And on that fabulous bodily note, I am going to join the collective unconscious as we sleep our way to another wonderful new idea.  Good night!

 

 

 

