Only a matter of time….

Posted on October 26, 2011

0


Watching the European Heads of State summit outcomes this evening it is hard not to come to the conclusion that it is only a matter of time before there is a pan-European economic collapse.  Angela Merkel went even further today in her address to the Bundestag when she said that without a successful single currency, there is no conflict-free outlook for the next 50 years in Europe.

Yet even though the problem is widely recognised as of enormous proportions, there still appears to be serious barriers to getting a solid agreement on what measures are necessary and more importantly, able to be implemented.

Meanwhile there are floods of gargantuan proportions in Thailand, and signs that the mother of all volcanoes in Iceland is about to blow.

So, all in all, things are going well then…..

This week I woke from a dream.  It was a single, riveting scene:

A globe, no bigger than a one pence piece floated into view on a background of black. To one side a dark pebble blotted the yellow-orange irradiance from a large planet.  I am standing on a moon, and as I look, I realise I am seeing an Earth. It is beautiful: an intense blue that comes from the unmistakable presence of oxygen.  Could it be the Earth?  I don’t know.

I watch some more.  As it moves around the distant sun, I can see the globe is shedding material as if it were a comet.  I watch, and my alarm grows: beautiful as it is, this material shooting away from this Earth is blue – it is the Earth’s atmosphere blowing away.  How much can it afford to lose?  I don’t know that either….

